Council Election results

Calendar icon

The results of the 2023-2024 GTC Scotland Council election are now available.

The following candidates have been elected to the Council and will take up office on 2 April 2024. Thank you to all who stood for election, and those who voted, in the council election. Thanks also to all of our outgoing Council members for their valued contribution to our work.

GTC Scotland is governed by a Council of 37 members, the majority of whom (19) are elected teachers.

Council members have a significant role in shaping the teaching profession of Scotland, maintaining and improving Professional Standards and contributing to the development of teacher professionalism and Scottish education.

Read more about the role and commitment required of a GTC Scotland Council member

Teachers (including headteachers) in Primary Schools or Nursery Schools in Scotland

Reserved Headteacher Seat

  • Catherine Harker, St Albert’s Primary School, Glasgow

Teachers / Headteachers

  • Alexandra Linda Gordon, Midlothian Council
  • Ailie Rankin, Inverclyde Council Education Services
  • Nuzhat Uthmani, University of Stirling
  • Ann Marie Murdoch, Highland Council

Teachers (including headteachers) in Secondary Schools in Scotland

Reserved Headteacher Seat

  • Michael Paul, Bucksburn Academy, Aberdeen

Teachers / Headteachers

  • Christopher Devlin, Cathkin High School, Cambuslang
  • Andrew McPake, Craigmount High School, Edinburgh
  • Matthew Robert Moss, Brae High School, Brae
  • Graeme James Cowie, Inverurie Academy, Inverurie
  • Kirsten Herbst-Gray (2-year term), Langholm Academy, Langholm

Teachers / Lecturers in the Further Education Sector in Scotland

  • Anne Marie Harley, Forth Valley College, Falkirk

Teachers / Lecturers in universities providing programmes of Initial Teacher Education

  • Evelyn McLaren, University of Glasgow, Glasgow

Candidate information

Candidates’ information and election statements

Election of Registered Teachers to the General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTC Scotland)

Election Governance and Supervision

The Independent Scrutineer appointed to supervise the election conduct and preserve the integrity of the election process was Civica Election Services Ltd.