The General Teaching Council for Scotland

Scottish education professionals celebrated at national awards

27 September 2019


Individuals and organisations within Scotland’s education sector have been recognised at the third annual GTC Scotland (GTCS) Excellence in Professional Learning Awards.

The awards were first launched in 2017, to celebrate those within the teaching and education sector in Scotland who excel at leadership, always show professionalism and bring about a sustained impact on learning and learners.  

This year’s Convener’s Award was won by Paul Beaumont, Director of Professional Learning at Scottish Schools Education Research Centre (SSERC). This prestigious award is presented to an individual who has shown outstanding leadership and through their work, has exemplified the GTCS Professional Values of Trust, Respect, Integrity, Professional Commitment and Social Justice. Previous recipients of the award include Mig Coupe, Head of Direct Help & Support at Salveson Mindroom, and Professor Rowena Arshand, Head of Moray House School of Education and Sport, and Co-Director of the Centre for Education for Racial Equality in Scotland (CERES) at University of Edinburgh. 

GTCS Chief Executive and Registrar, Ken Muir, said: “These awards recognise and celebrate the commitment to high-quality professional learning and leadership of learning shown by our teachers, learning communities and organisations. This type of learning has the potential to transform the lives of children and young people in our schools. I would like to congratulate each and every winner of this year’s Excellence in Professional Learning Awards. The effect their dedication has on schools, young people and the wider teaching profession is to be commended.”

Alastair MacGregor, Chief Executive, SSERC, said, “The team at SSERC are delighted that Paul has received this award. Since joining SSERC in 2008, Paul has demonstrated his passion for providing high-quality professional learning for teachers and technicians in Scotland. His dedicated approach always puts the learner at the centre of all that he does, whether it is teaching, writing, advising or researching.” 

The winners of the 2019 Excellence in Professional Learning Award for Schools and Learning Communities are:

  • Alloa Academy
  • Angus Virtual School
  • Bankton Primary School
  • Capshard Primary School and Torbain Primary School
  • Earlston High School
  • Eyemouth High School
  • Hillhead High School
  • Kirkintilloch Learning Community
  • North Berwick High School
  • Smithycroft Secondary School
  • St Ninians Primary School
  • University of Strathclyde

GTCS also celebrated organisations who support and promote high levels of professional learning for teachers.
The winners of the 2019 Professional Learning Award for Organisations are:

  • The Wood Foundation
  • Learning for Sustainability Scotland
  • School Leaders Scotland

While five programmes were celebrated for Professional Recognition, an award for Professional Learning:

  • MEd (named Pathways), University of Dundee
  • Making connection through learning for Sustainability, University of Edinburgh
  • Support for learning, City of Edinburgh Council
  • Improving our Classrooms, City of Glasgow Council
  • Supporting teacher learning, University of Strathclyde

The ceremony took place on the evening of Thursday 26 September at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Glasgow. The awards are in partnership with Education Scotland and Leckie, with award presentations by drummer and TV presenter Dougie Vipond. The ceremony also featured keynote speeches from Claire Adamson, MSP Chair of the Education and Skills Committee at Scottish Parliament and Professor Margery McMahon.


Photos of the award winners can be accessed here.