The General Teaching Council for Scotland

Scottish Universities

Teaching in Scotland is an all graduate profession. There are nine education institutions offering programmes of initial teacher education and entry requirements can be found under each institution website. Two additional universities, Edinburgh Napier University and Queen Margaret University, will be offering initial teacher education courses as of August 2019.

Education institutions

Accreditation of Initial Teacher Education programmes

We are responsible for reviewing and maintaining the standards of education provided by each education institution. We do this by regularly reviewing and accrediting the courses provided by each education institution.

The main purposes of accreditation are to:

  • ensure the professional appropriateness of programmes
  • ensure compliance with statutory requirements
  • provide objective information about the quality of programmes
  • determine and advise on approval of programmes
  • inform policy
  • stimulate enhancement of the quality of provision

Entry Requirements